We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Year Of The Pigbag

by Pigbag

Disco Mama 06:01
Out Of Chaos 10:00
Tabula Rasa 07:14
Beluga 05:46
Brains 05:43


Originally formed in 1980, Pigbag burst into the charts and the public consciousness with their first single, “Papa's Got A New Pigbag”, a track that retains its dance floor appeal to this day. The band toured extensively in Europe, Japan and the United States, released two albums, appeared on 'Top of the Pops' twice and built a loyal fan base before they split in 1983 due to musical differences.
Pigbag were part of the first flowering of the Bristol music scene when the City's musicians were creating their own unique synthesis of styles and finally being noticed by those outside the City. Perhaps if things had worked out differently Pigbag would have stayed together longer continuing to evolve musically and achieving more of the success they deserved. Now they have a second chance.
Thirty years after they split up, Sugar Shack Records are extremely pleased to announce that not only are Pigbag back with founding members Chris Lee and Ollie Moore as well as original member Kofi Adu, but they have recorded an album of brand new material entitled “Year of the Pigbag”.
Having spent the intervening years playing with groups as diverse as the Pogues, Abyssinians, Neneh Cherry, Osibisa and Mulato Astatke, the trio of original members were inspired by the re-release of their back catalogue to reform and recruit five new and very talented musicians who shared their vision of fusing African grooves, jazz, latin, funk and dance beats into a heady new cocktail to invigorate the 2010s just as they did the 1980s.
With the classic eight piece line-up and full brass section, just as when they started in Bristol, the band's new material is a joyous fusion of propulsive basslines, catchy horns and irresistible percussion all seamlessly blended into a heady mix that finds your feet tapping along as the urge to dance takes over. I can't wait to see the band live as this CD is a nonstop dance party of the highest order with echoes of the JBs, Fela Kuti and Sun Ra's Arkestra yet entirely different and their own unique creation, with music this catchy perhaps 2013 will be the year of Pigbag.
“Year of the Pigbag” is released on CD and digital download by Sugar Shack Records on 25th March 2013, available from all good retailers.


released March 25, 2013

All songs published by Archive Publishing Ltd 2013
Recorded at Eastcote Studios in London July 2012

Engineered by George Murphy and Philip Bagenal
Produced and Mixed by Chris Lee and George Murphy

The Band:
Chris Lee - Trumpet/Percussion
Ollie Moore - Saxes/Clarinet
John Sam - Drums
Kofi Adu - Congas/Percussion
Sven Atterton - Bass
Karme Caruso - Keyboards
Max O'Donnell - Guitar
Matt Dowse - Trombone

Special Thanks to Nigel Hardy, Mark Jones, Simon Hodge, Craig Charles, Adrian Gibson, Warren Thomson.

For full information on PIGBAG visit:


Artwork designed by Sam Giles
All tracks mastered by Steve Street December 2012
(p)(c) Sugar Shack Records 2013
All Rights Reserved

All recordings owned by Pigbag and exclusively licenced to Sugar Shack Records/ Bristol Archive Records
Mike Darby, Sugar Shack Records/Bristol Archive Records (Bristol Boys Make More Noise)


all rights reserved



Sugar Shack Records Bristol, UK

Sugar Shack Records is a sister imprint of Bristol Archive Records and Reggae Archive Records. Established in 1985, we have released critically acclaimed Rock and Reggae albums.

contact / help

Contact Sugar Shack Records

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Year Of The Pigbag, you may also like: